Boston Restaurant Highlights

Oak Long Bar + Kitchen

Oak Long Bar + Kitchen

My husband and I spent our anniversary in Boston last summer, checking out several restaurants and sights. For a recent conference, I had the opportunity to go back and revisit a few favorites as well as try a few new restaurants.

I almost didn’t recognize the stately, leather-chair, old-school-Bostonian Oak Bar located in the Fairmont Copley Plaza. It has undergone a huge renovation and is now hip, vibrant Oak Long Bar + Kitchen. I had the tagliatelle with lobster, short ribs, and zucchini soffrito. Oh. My. God. The poor bartender had to gently pull my empty bowl away when I was done. I will most certainly be trying to copy this recipe very soon. While I can appreciate the restaurant needing to appeal to a larger, younger crowd, I will miss the Old World elegance of the Oak Room. An after-dinner stroll through their amazing lobby makes me look forward to seeing Versailles.

A second night, I decided to try Lucca Back Bay, a sister restaurant of the original located on the North End. I had the bolognese pappardelle with a side of brussels sprouts, copying one of my favorite after-work dinners that I often have here at Piatti of Denver. It was very nice, as was the service.

Some favorites that I didn’t get to see this trip: Top of the Hub (gorgeous views) and L’Espalier (if you’re in the mood for a decadent and very expensive dinner. They have a Fromager, if that’s any indication.)

Leave a Reply

