Trend watch: smoking slippers, needlepoint, and loafers

Having grown up with a ballet background, I naturally adored the ballet flat craze that has been around for the past several summers. But with a wide foot, it was a trend that I sadly had to watch from afar. (Except in the privacy of my home where I often relax in a pair of actual ballet slippers.)

ballet

Last fall, thankfully, an emerging trend was spotted that I’m sure will impact footwear choices for the next several seasons: loafers.

I’ve always had a penchant for loafers:

Belgians,

Belgian shoes

Stubbs and Wootton needlepoints,

Stubbs & Wootton

Tod’s driving mocs,

Tod's

Sperry Top-siders,

sperry

and smoking slippers (for sipping wine, not for smoking!) See an example at this Etsy shop.

The lengthier vamp of the loafer is so much more flattering to my foot and there is something a little more refined about a loafer over the ballet flat. (Off to find a pair of black velvet smoking wine-sipping slippers.)

UPDATE: I am officially in love with the Jon Josef Gatsby in Zebra.

shoe

Leave a Reply

