Time Traveling

This weekend was so summery and wonderful that I found myself sifting through my jewelry box for forgotten spring-like gold pieces that I haven’t worn in ages.

I have already blogged before about how much I love wearing Mama Chris’ Movado watch. I also wear her amethyst ring given to me in high school, but not appreciated until very recently. Both of these pieces make me feel close to my grandmother, though I don’t have memories of her wearing either of these.

Saturday, however, I found my mother’s gold sanddollar charm, hung on a gold box chain from decades ago. I vividly recall her wearing this with her gold-rimmed Ray-Bans and a navy blue bandeau bikini.

sanddollar

I put it on and INSTANTLY…

…it was 1982 on St. Simon’s Island, GA…

…we were on Brad’s Hobie-cat…

…then on the beach listening to Dire Straits’ Communiqué album…

…reapplying our Bain de Soleil…

…enjoying summer.

Leave a Reply

