Gruet Winery

Tattered Cover Cherry CreekDenverites may well remember The Fourth Story, that cozy, bookish, foodie haven atop Cherry Creek’s Tattered Cover bookstore before they moved Uptown. I would often go up to their gorgeous mahogany bar with a new book and a glass of wine as a single girl in Denver. My husband and I enjoyed some of our first dates here and I celebrated my first brunch as a bride in one of their oversize booths. (Image from Tattered Cover.)

It was here one evening that I was perusing their list of sparkling wines and came across one from Albuquerque, New Mexico. I admit…I chuckled and doubted how good it could really be. The bartender encouraged me to try it, though, and I’m so glad that I did.

And so, for the past ten years, I have been enjoying Gruet sparkling wine, always wondering what it would be like to go to Albuquerque and tour the winery. A recent business trip provided the perfect excuse and I flew my husband out to meet me on Friday.

wineThe winery’s location is less than spectacular, nestled on a frontage road between an RV seller and a Tuff-shed store. The wines, however, make you soon forget your surroundings. My new favorites are the Sauvage (bone dry, low dosage) and the Blanc de Blancs 2007 (toasty, yeasty). We enjoyed the wines and atmosphere so much (thank you, Shelby!), that we joined their wine club. The Club is very reasonably-priced and even includes a few magnums (magna?) during the holidays.

(Image from Gruet)

One response to “Gruet Winery

  1. Pingback: Revisiting Santa Fe « Mountains & Magnolias

Leave a Reply

