Rediscovering pimento cheese

No Rocky Mountain Oysters, Please

I grew up on pimento cheese, at least what I thought was so, in the deep South and I have to admit – I thought it was one of the grossest dishes I’d ever encountered. Little did I know that this “Southern caviar” could be something besides the over-processed, mayonnaise-heavy goup that one would find in the grocery store.

February’s issue of Southern Living piqued my interest somewhat with several different recipes that actually looked appetizing. Still, I was a little skeptical.

bookcoverI did a complete about-face, however, after visiting Magnolia’s in Charleston last weekend. Minimal mayonnaise, rich sharp cheddar & parmesan, roasted red bell peppers, and the surprise of green olives…what’s not to love?! The food was so delicious, I bought a copy of chef Donald Barickman’s cookbook.

Since we’ve returned home, I’ve experimented with several variations that I’m loving, including pimento cheese on fresh tomatoes and pimento cheese…

View original post 3 more words

Leave a Reply

