Hoppin’ John

My mother called this morning to wish us a Happy New Year. During the conversation, she checked to make certain that I was serving Hoppin’ John today. (Yes, ma’am!)

hoppinJohnI’ve heard several stories about what each ingredient means, but I tend to go with:

  • rice for luck
  • black-eyed peas for prosperity
  • pork for optimism (as it always forages forward)
  • I like to add tomatoes (let’s say it’s for love)
  • served with collards or other greens (again, prosperity)

This year, I roughly based my Hoppin’ John recipe on this find from Garden & Gun. I substituted fresh kale instead of collards and added a dash of Tobasco’s Green Chili for a little spice.

This afternoon, we’re cheering on the Broncos against the Bears. Wishing everyone a very happy, healthy, & prosperous 2012.

Leave a Reply

