From broke to Baroque

When I moved to Denver in 1998, I was a fourth year teacher struggling to make ends meet. I had a fabulous apartment on Capitol Hill, however, built in 1918 with hardwood floors, a view of the park, and close to downtown. As I set up my new place, I allowed myself to “splurge” on a desk from Target for about $30.

old desk

Years later, the desk is still simple and functional, but the plain pine was beginning to bore me. Inspired by our recent visit to Paris, I decided to give it a Baroque make-over with black lacquer paint, a handle for the drawer, and touches of gold leaf. I LOVE the results!

new desk

Now to find an inexpensive Louis XIV chair…

One response to “From broke to Baroque

  1. Pingback: Ready for Christmas Eve! « Mountains & Magnolias

Leave a Reply

