Green Tomatoes

My mother makes, hands down, the BEST fried green tomatoes in the world. She slices them really thin, salts them, and fries them until they’re crisp, almost like tomato “chips.” My grandmother (who turns 86 today…Happy Birthday, Granny!) also has a wonderful green tomato pie recipe with cheddar cheese, Parmesan, and onions baked in a pie crust. I have grown up watching Southern cooks concoct amazing dishes out of that simple, unripened fruit.

magazine cover So I was THRILLED yesterday when the June issue of Southern Living arrived in my mailbox, featuring “8 Ways with Green Tomatoes.”

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes
  2. Fried Green Tomato Po’boys
  3. Green Tomato Salsa
  4. Fried Green Tomatoes with Shrimp Remoulade
  5. Fried Green Tomato and Bacon Biscuits
  6. Green Tomato Garden Party Salad
  7. Grilled Green Tomatoes Caprese
  8. Sweet Green Tomato Cornmeal Muffins
I was so inspired that I decided to walk down to the Cherry Creek farmers market this morning to see if I could find any green tomatoes. (They are nearly impossible to find in Colorado’s grocery stores.) No such luck, but I’ll keep searching. To be continued…
marty

In the meantime, here is La Madame showing her approval of my green tomato quest.
One response to “Green Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Fried Green Tomatoes at last | No Rocky Mountain Oysters, Please

Leave a Reply

