My love affair with toile

I can’t remember when I first learned of toile…perhaps from a table cloth Mama Chris had…perhaps from a paper napkin I recall from a tea party…but I remember loving the soft sketches of idyllic rural scenes and their coming in a variety of pretty hues. Looking around now, the print can be found in almost every room of my home.

Hermes scarf in Jardins des Metamorphoses

scarf

Soup tureen from The Twiggery

tureen

Toile apron from Williams & Sonoma (old)

apron

Cute little paper napkins from Denver’s The Tended Thicket on South Gaylord

napkin

Tray that I lined with toile printed paper

try

Savannah print potholder from Working Class Studio

potholder

I love that anything toile adds a soft, Old World touch, yet seems unstuffy in that the scenes are almost always pastoral.

Leave a Reply

